Why I wrote I’m a ‘public nuisance’ on my LinkedIn

Uncategorized

こんにちは~

That’s the last bit of Japanese you’ll see in this post. I feel like I’ve got some quota to meet for posting in Japanese, but whatever I’m a rebel.

Let’s kick off this post with a quick look at my LinkedIn profile (mobile version.)

It's up on the web and everything, so don't worry about privacy. Yeesh.

It’s up on the web and everything, so don’t worry about privacy. Yeesh.

Anyway, there it is, clear as day. I’m calling myself a public nuisance on a site for professionals. How bold.

I caught a bit of flak for it. My friend posted the following on Facebook a couple of days ago:

“Writing public nuisance on LinkedIn is career suicide… and please don’t ever say you work in Marketing.”

Harsh.

So I thought, what better way to justify my LinkedIn than through a handy dandy blog post!

Let’s get to it. Maybe 5 years ago, there was one way to talk to people professionally, and that was professionally. You’d start your email with Dear Sir/Madam, and sign off with a yours truly.

But with the sudden influx of yuppie entrepreneurs who wear shorts to work and wouldn’t imagine starting a day without a cuppa Starbucks, a new and more casual marketing voice was born.

In my job, I use both that more casual voice and the professional voice, depending on who I’m talking to.

Here’s a example of a marketing email I wrote to someone in his 50s at a global security firm:

Dear Sir,
Thank you for stopping by our booth last week, and for taking the time to hear more about our data discovery solutions.

I have sent you a trial license of our product, which you should have received in an earlier email.

Details on how you may download the program are available in that email, but should you have any difficulty getting started, please let me know and I’ll be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,
Me

Here’s an email I sent to a guy I met at the very same conference, who was a lot closer in age to me:

Hi (guy’s name),

It was great meeting you at PCI Sydney last week! Did you enjoy your trip?

I have sent you a trial license of our product, which you should have received in an earlier email.

Details on how you may download the program are available in that email, but should you have any difficulty getting started, let me know and I’ll be glad to help.

Hope to hear back from you soon!

(P.S: It would be great if you could follow us on Twitter- we’re constantly sharing news on the industry, as well as generating our own written content which I’m sure you’ll find riveting. Thanks!)



Both clients replied and seemed happy with the tones, and responded in kind.

Young adults today tend to enjoy the more casual writing style- it feels more personal and warm. It makes you easier to trust.

Granted, I have fucked up before. I emailed a 50 year-old dude in my company with ‘Hi’ in the title, and he got pissy. He was a douche anyway, but lesson learned.

And I swear I’m not pulling this out my ass. Let’s look at a case study. Let me introduce you to one of my favorite marketing people, Noah Kagan.

Untitled-3

His title? Chief Sumo. His Summary? “I like to make things and eat tacos. Specialties: happiness and the web.”

Hardly what you’d expect from a man at the head of AppSumo.com, a successful daily deals website.

Here’s an example of one of his posts, by the way. Note his shirtlessness in the product demo.

See, Noah gets it. He knows his audience. The people who use his site are young and he knows how to talk to them. He knows he can be shirtless in a video and call his programmer a drug addict and get away with it. And using this kind of language doesn’t hold him back- on the contrary, it is a big part of what has made AppSumo what it is today.

So what does this have to do with me? Simple. It’s not just that I don’t want to work at fuddy duddy companies with rigid rules and a strict dress code- it’s that, this is who I am. This is my murderface. I’m great at writing casual articles and posts that young people read, and I intend to keep doing so.

Basically, I’m speaking the language of the people who want to hire people exactly like me. I know what kind of boss I want, I know what he’s looking for, and I’m showing that yo, I’m that guy.

And I swear that I’m not imagining these jobs which let me be all YOOOO to everyone everyday. Here’s one such job ad, which went a little too far, but is proof that such employers do in fact exist.

I think that in today’s marketing world, you need to be malleable, depending on your audience. There is no longer one single best way to talk to a customer, and it certainly isn’t as black and white as casual or professional. A truly awesome marketer is one who can communicate effectively and get his message across, regardless of who he’s talking to. And I hope I can be that someday.

I don’t know if you guys agree/disagree with my justification, but let me know what you think in the comments section and we can have a good ol’ blog post brawl.

Leave a Reply

